Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Family Strong Movie Night

OJR Elementary School 
Family Movie Night!
Watch a current movie where the heroine overcomes great odds to save her village....

Where: High School Auditorium
When: March 31st, doors will open at 6:30 P.M., and the movie will begin at 7 P.M.
-Admission is FREE
-Snacks will be available for sale at a brief intermission
-Games, face painting, and Basket Raffle!
*All children must be accompanied by an adult*

*Talk it out! Handouts and resources on Resilience (the ability to find resources to thrive during times of high stress) will be provided by the OJR Wellness Council.

Questions? email JRechtin@ojrsd.com

Citadel Awards Carrie Mitton

On March 24, 2017, at East Vincent Elementary School, Citadel representatives awarded Ms. Carrie Mitton her second Citadel Heart of Learning Finalist Award for Owen J. Roberts School District. Ms. Mitton was also an awardee for Owen J. Roberts in 2011.
The Citadel Heart of Learning Award was developed by Citadel and the Chester County Intermediate Unit 16 years ago to recognize, reward, and thank the outstanding teachers we have in Chester County. The program has grown in such popularity that Citadel receives thousands of heartfelt nominations each year. 
Principal Dr. Cheryl Bell with Citadel representatives surprise Ms. Mitton
East Vincent Elementary students surrounded Ms. Mitton as she humbly accepted the award. Nominations for Ms. Mitton described a dedicated, energetic, and encouraging teacher, “born to teach”. One nomination read, “We want the school to know what a treasure you have in this teacher as an instructor and within the district.” 
Ms. Mitton will receive a $500 award to purchase supplies or other items for her classroom. “We are so proud to honor teachers like Carrie Mitton with the Citadel Heart of Learning Award,” said Abby Brooks, Manager, Citadel. “It’s evident from the nominations we received that Carrie is dedicated to making learning a fun experience, ensuring the success of her students, and going above and beyond the standard teaching requirements.”

In May, finalists from all school districts in Chester County will gather at the banquet for final awards. This year, Citadel and the CCIU worked to create fun, "candid-camera" videos to be aired during the Citadel Heart of Learning Awards Banquet in May. Congratulations on this recognition, Ms. Carrie Mitton.


Monday, March 27, 2017

Students Shine at Best Buddies Ball

This weekend, students in the Life Skills and Community Connections Program, along with numerous adult volunteers and Best Buddies members, attended the Best Buddies Ball at the Double Tree Hilton in Valley Forge.  It was a fun-filled event!  Students had a blast dancing, eating, singing, and celebrating life and friendship.  Candis Wiese, Life Skills Support Teacher, said, "We feel so lucky to be a  part of this amazing organization!!!" Owen J. Roberts High School was awarded "Most Dedicated Chapter". Congratulations, Best Buddies!

"Best Buddies is dedicated to ending the social, physical and economic isolation of  people with disabilities. For individuals within this community, Best Buddies helps them form meaningful friendships with their peers, secure successful jobs, live independently, improve public speaking, self-advocacy and communications skills, and feel valued by society."

Friday, March 24, 2017

Enthusiasticly Artistic

With the help of Senior Citizen workers and other volunteers, an estimated 5,000 art pieces were displayed at the Middle School this week! At the Middle School Night of the Arts, performances by Middle School students included the Jazz band with many enthusiastic soloists spontaneously volunteering to please large audiences in the auditorium. Art teachers sponsored two “Circle Art” community art projects where any person could contribute by coloring portions of murals which will be hung in the school. It was a successful inter-generational project!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Excellence Recognized at Board Meeting

At the Owen J. Roberts Board of School Directors Regular Business Meeting on Monday, March 20, 2017, many students were recognized for excellence.

Members of the High School Wrestling Team were congratulated for winning the Pioneer Athletic Conference (PAC) Championship:
Alejandro Acosta, Jacob McLeod, Nicholas Duliakas, William Meredith, David Forrest Antonio Petrucelli, Griffin Gerber, Luke Resnick, Dan Mancini, Ryan Resnick, Patrick McCutchen, Erin Shanahan, Tyler McCutchen, Jason Zollers.

Gratitude was also extended to head coach Steve DeRafelo (The Liberty Division Coach of the Year for the Pioneer Athletic Conference) and Assistant Coach Mike Brilla for their dedication to the wrestling team.
Congratulations were extended to members of the High School Girls Swimming & Diving Team for having an undefeated season and winning the Pioneer Athletic Conference (PAC) Championship:
Kira Alderman, Brianna Kerley, Haley Cargo, Quinn Kratz, Lilia Crew, Lillian Kull, Katherine Dietrich, Alexis Little, Jennifer Dinnocenti, Giannina Marie Flamiano, Laurel Fink, Riley Moran,
Madison Gadzicki, Meredith Mutter, Grace Girard, Mikayla Niness, Ella Greenholt, Alexa Rae Luecke, Morgan Hansen, Veronica Roach, Riley Hansen, Helena VanNatter, and Emily Hughes
Congratulations were extended to the members of the High School Boys Swimming & Diving Team for an undefeated season and for winning the Pioneer Athletic Conference (PAC) Championship:
Ryan Alderman, Adam Gorrell, Jonathan Arditi, Jackson Keating, Logan Baker, Ryan King, Charles Blackledge, Robin Mailum, Ryan Bowker, Carter Niness, Simon Crew, Matthew Rantz, Daniel DiMarino, Jordan Roach, Aidan Dunn, Jack Savant, Hayden Fink, Matthew Snyder, Anthony Fiorito, Stephen Waskiw, Maxwell Gallagher, Jordon Zakarevicz, Daniel Gerhart.

Gratitude was extended to head coach Kevin Bott and Assistant Coaches Rebekah Elliot and Lindsey Stauffenberg for their dedication to the boys and girls swimming and diving teams.

A few of the talented music students
In addition to athletics, many talented musicians were also recognized. High School Orchestra students were congratulated for qualifying for the PMEA District 12 Orchestra Festival:
Daniel DiMarino - violin *
Emma Flinchbaugh - flute *
Daniel Horning - trumpet *
Madeleine Simmons - cello *
*Qualified for PMEA Region 6 Orchestra

Gratitude was extended to Mr. Martin Prescod for his dedication to the orchestra students.

Congratulations were extended to the following High School Band students for qualifying for the PMEA District 12 Band Festival:
David Bicer - trombone
Melinda Burns - bass clarinet
Emma Flinchbaugh - flute *
Daniel Horning - trumpet *
*Qualified for PMEA Region 6 Band

Mr. Todd Mengel was recognized for his dedication to the band students.

Congratulations were extended to the following High School Choral students for qualifying for the PMEA District 12 Choir Festival:
Daniel DiMarino - Bass 1 * **
Rebecca Emery - Tenor 1 * **
Alena Feldman - Soprano 2
Madison Frederick - Alto 1 *
Maxwell Gallagher - Tenor 1 *
Lucas Gray - Bass 1 *
Cheyenne Hails - Soprano 2 *
Michael Maher - Tenor 1 * **
Robin Mailum - Tenor 1 *
Cassandra Marks - Alto 1 *
Emily Reitz - Soprano 2
Jordan Roach - Bass 1
Kaiden Roberts - Alto 1
*Qualified for PMEA Region 6 Chorus
** Qualified for PMEA All-State Chorus
Congratulations were also given to Daniel DiMarino - Violin 1 and Conrad Sager - Bass 1 for qualifying to participate in the NAfME All-Eastern Honors Ensemble.

Ms. Sheila McIntyre was acknowledged for her dedication to the choral students.

EV Lion Cubs Send Warmth, Love to Manor

For Valentine's Day, the East Vincent LION CUBS made Valentines and fleece blankets for residents at Manatawny Manor, according to advisor Amanda Orr, who shared the photographs. Students crafted the blanket edges with a hand-tied fringe look.